Find Community. Share Expertise. Enhance Library Careers.

Announcing Core’s Slate of Candidates for 2024-2025 Election

Announcing Core’s Slate of Candidates for 2024-2025 Election

We are pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the 2024-2025 ALA Core election.  The Core election will open on March 11, 2024 and will continue through April 3, 2024. All Core members in good standing as of March 11, 2024, are eligible to participate and vote in this election.

The candidates for Core President-Elect running for the 2024-2025 term are:

Don Allgeier
Tillamook County Library
Tillamook, OR

Kevin A.R. King
East Lansing Public Library
East Lansing, MI

The candidates for the two Core Director at Large seats for the 2024-2025 term are:

Cara Calabrese
Acquisitions & Access Librarian
Miami University
Oxford, OH

Amy Swartz
Head of Library Technology
Columbia Law School
New York, NY

Denise R. Lyons
Commissioner and State Librarian
Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives
Lexington, KY

Kerry Walton
Associate Dean for Academic Services (Interim), Electronic Resources Librarian
West Chester University
Phoenixville, PA

The candidates for the Core Metadata and Collections Section Chair-Elect seat for the 2024-2025 term are:

Emily Fidelman
Head of Metadata Services
West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV

Scott A. Opasik
Director of Access Support
Indiana University South Bend
South Bend, IN

Learn more about the candidates and cast your ballot by April 3, 2024. Members will receive an email from ALA with information about how to vote online. The election results will be announced on April 8, 2024.